Southeast Asian success!

Today’s two-course meal was a Spicy Shrimp Curry Soup and Southeast Asian Fried Rice with Chicken.

I must say that the soup was delectable. (Toot own horn here).

I really enjoyed this dish and the prep was a cinch! Sliced mushrooms, diced red pepper, infused with red curry paste, fish sauce, chicken broth, some brown sugar and freshly grated ginger. The ten minute infusion really had the mushrooms absorb all of the above flavours. Then adding coconut milk (light version) gave it the creamy texture it needed. After you include the shrimp until cooked you simply take it off the heat and add  fresh basil, green onions and freshly squeezed lime and you there you have it. The only thing I would do for next time is double the amount of red curry paste. It was totally not as spicy as I was expecting, but otherwise very flavourful in a lot of unexpected ways!

As for the second course, this took a lot of prep. Numerous ingredients with different cuts, and four steps in the cooking process with the same pan (as instructed) had me transferring the other ‘phases’ in a separate bowl back and again.

I’m not too humble to say that I was very pleased with the presentation. It kinda looked like Noodle Box fare, but not up to their taste standards (yet!) Again for a healthier version the recipe called for brown rice. I did enjoy the boneless chicken but would cut the red pepper smaller and perhaps the broccoli too. The colours in the dish were vivid and the fresh lime was just what it needed to make it complete.

While it’s early days, I bet you the soup might be my highlight dish of this challenge…

Leave a comment