Just beginning at Bao Down

With a toddler in tow, it is difficult to get to places that are not in my neighbourhood or along my regular commuting/shopping routes. So, I always appreciate when my work provides me with the opportunity to try restaurants that I have been planning to get to.

I tried Bao Down in Mount Pleasant. I had the ‘Same Same’ pad thai for $16 and it was worth the money. Thanks to the server for the recommendation for a heartier lunch. The shrimp were large and numerous. The noodles were sauced on the sweeter side but the freshness of the shrimp provided some palette relief. Noodles were perfectly cooked. I liked the presentation style of having the omelette on the side instead of mixed throughout the dish.

If I had to show you an “after” pic, the plate would have been completely empty.

I loved the attentive servers, despite the busy bustle of the lunch crowd. Constant water refills are always a notable gold-star mention for me. I know they have other outlets which have different menu offerings, so hoping to hit some of those in the near future.

p.s. I was able to return, this time with the actual toddler in tow. The pork lumpia shanghai was well cooked, but nothing out of the ordinary. We enjoyed the fly rice as Bao’s take was to combine pork sisig with fried rice, a combo I will not turn down. For a great palette refresh, we also devoured the papaya salad. I loved how generous they were with their lime vinaigrette. No pics this time as I was focused on feeding the kiddo.

Bao Down Gastropub & Raw Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 comments

  1. Just came back from Josephine’s at Main St. as I was crying for halo-halo on a hot day like this. It was a dissapointment at $6.50!

    >

Leave a comment