Whistler Winter Wonderland Wrap-up

Here is my Whistler Winter Wonderland Wrap-up. Say that five times fast! Being there for 1 1/2 days we were able to partake in some of the food fare up there with a variety of results.

For Monday’s lunch, Dinah, Sharon and I were touring around the Village for a bit trying to decide where to eat. We scanned a variety of menus from site-to-site and settled on La Bocca. After a meager breakfast at home before we drove the 1 1/2 hours to Whistler I was a bit hungry. D and I shared hot wings and the New York pizza. For avid readers you already know that when I go anywhere “new”, (I put new in quotations here because technically I have only been to Whistler in the summertime), I have to try the hot wings. On my scale, La Bocca’s hot wings were sarap. They were deep fried and had a no-surprises blue cheese sauce to tame the fiery bite. Nothing to rah-rah about, but acceptable. The New York pizza was much less impressive. A small sized pizza at medium prices, hardly any meat for what was supposed to be their meatiest option, and I also didn’t like the crust or the cheese. Out of the two, I’d only have the hot wings again.

After two hours of snowshoeing at Lost Lake (including getting lost, watching out for the cougar that had been spotted earlier in the day, and seeing it getting darker and darker until we finally found our way back), we had worked up quite an appetite for dinner. We had not made any reservations. Even though it was a Monday night it was still tough to get into places. We had initially gone to check out Sushi Village but did not want to wait the one hour approximate we were told about upon entry.

I think it was a blessing in disguise because we were looking for some sort of Asian alternative and stumbled onto Teppan Village. It is a higher-end Japanese restaurant that features authentic Japanese food with the chefs cooking right in front of you. I used to love going to Kobe on Alberni in downtown Vancouver, so I was really looking forward to the meal. I wasn’t disappointed!

Teppan Village was only a twenty minute wait (without a reservation) and S enjoyed a drink at the bar while we waited. The menu prices were generally comparable to Kobe (as my main experience with this style of dining, Kobe will probably be referred to often.)

I enjoyed a strawberry margarita, not too large and just the right amount of alcohol for my taste, while we perused the menu. I settled on the 8 oz steak, with 1/2 an Atlantic lobster. Hey, when you go to a restaurant like this only once in a year or two, you go all the way, am I right?

We began with a simple salad. It was simple in appearance and in terms of the vegetables included. However, the sauce was delicious! I was prepared for a flat version of thousand island dressing from the looks of it. But looks deceive. I was quite pleased with the dressing, and initially thought there wasn’t enough for the salad I had, but was pleasantly surprised with additional dressing at the bottom of the bowl. I wish my palate was more precise so that I could guess the ingredients or name for you the flavours the dressing was generating but it was masarap, nonetheless.

Then our chef arrived. Our chef was a woman. I make mention of that fact because in all the years that I went to Kobe, (I would usually go once a year, and went there several years in a row,) I never saw a woman chef! I wonder if there are any there now?

Our chef was good hearted and made light jokes if she missed a beat or two in the presentation. We still enjoyed excellent food. Teppan provided three different sauces (one for seafood, vegetables and meat). The seafood and meat sauces were my favourite. By the way, I believe that Kobe only provides two sauces.

For those who haven’t had Japanese food cooked in front of them we had the entertainment of sizzling oil-fire, flying lemons, snow salt, and dancing tofu. This amidst rounds of shrimps (as an appetizer); mixed vegetables including onions, mushrooms, and zucchini; our main dishes (meat or seafood or whatever you ordered) finished off with bean sprouts. Somewhere intermingled we were also served a bowl of miso soup.

I thoroughly enjoyed my meal! Everything was cooked to perfection, including my perfect medium for my steak and I love that it’s made bite-sized already (saves me from cutting). Although next time I wouldn’t bother with the lobster. Too messy, although the seafood sauce went well with it. I would’ve filled up with the steak alone. Easily the highlight restaurant and food of the trip!

The last meal we had at Whistler was Tuesday’s lunch at the Little Eatery. After taking several touristy pictures at the Olympic rings we decided to eat. It was more like brunch as we were waiting for the Tube Park to open up and had an hour to kill. I ordered the clam chowder and the smoked meat sandwich. The clam chowder was a generous portion (D and I shared as it was too much for one person) and was much better than the one I cooked a few days ago. The potatoes were cut smaller, as were the red peppers, and while there were less clams than in my creation, I appreciated the overall taste much more. It even came with this great toasted flat bread which was perfect on such a cold morning.

The smoked meat sandwich came next, but I felt it didn’t deserve the name. I had asked them to hold the Swiss cheese and have the sauerkraut on the side, both of which, I was told, normally go inside the sandwich. I had one cold slice of pickle outside of the sandwich, and three slices within which were warm because of the sandwich press. I quickly took them out and tried to salvage what I could.  The smoked meat sandwich was tasty but chintzy on the meat. Honestly, for $13 I expect more than two thin slices of smoked meat. I wasn’t expecting a 6oz Montreal-style sandwiches, but two slices ?!? The Dijon mustard in the sandwich was okay, but then the plate was ‘decorated’ with drops of what I think was raspberry sauce and a thin line of yellow mustard. These did nothing to add to the dish. Thank goodness I had enjoyed the chowder, at least half my meal was worth it!

I probably will do Whistler again in the winter sometime and will endeavour to try other places to learn lessons, or return to my favourites to enjoy again and again!

Teppan Village on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

